Join Rockin'Town
Rockin'Town Artist Bio

Parquet Courts

Parquet Courts, an American Punk Rock band based in Brooklyn, formed in late '10. They issued their debut album, "American Specialties," as a limited edition cassette (later re-released on LP). That was followed by the full length album, "Light Up Gold" ('12), which initially was on the Savage's Dull Tools label but later reissued on What's Your Rupture? in '13.

"Light Up Gold" received acclaim from both the DIY underground and mainstream Rock press, landing at #11 on Rolling Stone magazine's annual list of the best albums of 2013. That same year, Parquet Courts issued the EP "Tally All the Things That You Broke."

Next up was '14's full-length effort "Sunbathing Animal" which peaked at #55 on the Billboard Album chart. Both that album and "Tally All The Things That You Broke" served as the foundation for the group's "Live At Third Man Records." The set, recorded on 6/5/14 in Nashville, came out the following year, with versions of the title track, "Bodies Made Of," "Instant Disassembly," and "Into The Garden."

But before the live set dropped, Parquet Courts took a turn masquerading as their alter-ego Parkey Quarts. They issued "Content Nausea," an album recorded in about two weeks.

The following year, the band released a mostly instrumental, experimental EP, entitled "Monastic Living."

Inching back toward the mainstream, Parquet Courts rolled out their fifth studio effort, '16's "Human Performance."

Parquet Courts Discography


2011 American Specialties
2012 Light Up Gold
2013 Tally All The Things That You Broke EP
2014 Sunbathing Animal
2014 Content Nausea (as Parkey Quarts)
2015 Live At Third Man Records
2016 Human Performance

Rate This Bio | Join Rockin'Town | Related Artists | Rockin'Forum