Join Rockin'Town
Rockin'Town Artist Bio


Bands come and go. But if they had any measure of success, they inevitably return.

Founded in Bristol, England, by guitarist Nige Rockett and drummer Steve Grice, Onslaught soon added vocalist Jase Pope and bassist Paul Hill. But the latter two were soon replaced. And their replacements were replaced.

The Thrash Metal group's initial run was from '83 to '91, with their sophomore set "The Force" being the high water mark. Onslaught's third album, "In Search of Sanity," did okay (#46) on the U.K. album chart but disappointed fans and was said to be a factor in the group's demise.

Onslaught reformed in '05 with Rockett, Grice, guitarist Alan Jordan and vocalist Sy Keeler. As the group's fourth singer, from '85 to '88, Keeler was on "The Force."

This iteration proved no more stable than the original. Soon Jordan was gone and a few year later Grice departed. As this was swirling, the group issued '07's "Killing Peace," '11's "Sounds Of Violence" and '13's "VI."

Then in '15 the announcement came that longtime absentee guitarist Andy Rosser Davies, who joined in '08, had been replaced by Iain "GT" Davies. "He's a great guitarist and a real cool guy who has fitted seamlessly into our long established lineup," said Rockett.

But Davies had a relatively short run. Onslaught announced in '18 that both he and drummer Mic Hourihan were gone. "Mic and Iain made the decision to leave Onslaught soon after the last tour finished in order to concentrate on their other bands and projects," read a statement.

Onslaught Discography


1985 Power From Hell
1986 The Force
1989 In Search Of Sanity
2007 Killing Peace
2011 Sounds Of Violence
2013 VI

Rate This Bio | Join Rockin'Town | Related Artists | Rockin'Forum