Join Rockin'Town
Rockin'Town Artist Bio

My Dying Bride

My Dying Bride's 12th full studio album, "Feel The Misery," a '15 release that coincided with the group's 25th anniversary, featured the return of original guitarist Calvin Robertshaw.

Following '99's "The Light At The End Of The Day" My Dying Bride went on hiatus. In the interim, a couple of retrospective compilations came out, "Meisterwerk 1" and "Meisterwerk 2," but when the break ended Robertshaw left to become the group's tour manager. He was replaced by Hamish Glencross who had an extended run until he was fired in '14 following a Deathfest show in Maryland.

My Dying Bride formed in Bradford, England with guitarist Andrew Craighan and drummer Rick Miah, who had previously worked together. They were joined by vocalist Aaron Stainthorpe and Robertshaw. Only Craigham and Stainthrope passed the quarter century mark. Miah left in '97.

Following an EP, "Symphonaire Infernus Et Spera Empyrium," the group issued '92 full-length debut, "As The Flower Withers."

The full-length "Turn Loose The Swans" preceded '95's "The Angel And The Dark River" which led to My Dying Bride's first festival shows and a slot on an Iron Maiden's tour.

Along the way, they became recognized as a forerunner of Doom Metal.

Subsequent albums charted in Finland, France and Germany with '12's "A Map Of All Our Failures" being My Dying Bride's best chart showing across Europe. The album was also their first U.K. chart appearance since '96 when "Like Gods Of The Sun" peaked at #131.

To further commemorate their 25th anniversary, My Dying Bride unfurled A Harvest Of Dread, a '16 book containing five discs of rarities, early works, demos, band favorites, and live audio.

My Dying Bride Discography


1992 As The Flower Withers
1993 Turn Loose The Swans
1995 The Angel And The Dark River
1996 Like Gods Of The Sun
1998 34.788%...Complete
1999 The Light At The End Of The World
2001 The Dreadful Hours
2004 Songs Of Darkness Words Of Light
2006 A Line Of Deathless Kings
2009 For Lies I Sire
2011 Evinta
2012 A Map Of All Our Failures
2015 Feel The Misery
2016 A Harvest Of Dread (compilation)

Rate This Bio | Join Rockin'Town | Related Artists | Rockin'Forum