Join Rockin'Town
Rockin'Town Artist Bio

The Minus 5

Scott McCaughey is known, in part, for his tenure with The Young Fresh Fellows. In addition to backing Robyn Hitchcock, McCaughey made significant contributions to R.E.M. He was the second guitarist on their Monster tour, played multiple instruments (guitar, bass, keyboards and backing vocals) on their albums "New Adventures In Hi-Fi," "Up," Reveal," "Around The Sun," "Accelerate" and "Collapse Into Now." McCaughey was also heard on "R.E.M. Live" and "Live At The Olympia."

But before he began working with R.E.M. McCaughey founded The Minus 5, which featured R.E.M.'s guitarist, Peter Buck.

Formed in '93, Minus 5 was a "collective" with over one-hundred musicians contributing throughout the band's career. Notable alum included Death Cab For Cutie's Ben Gibbard and Wilco's Jeff Tweedy.

"Hello," a '94 EP, marked The Minus 5's debut. A year later, their first full-length set "Old Liquidator" arrived. The group landed on Hollywood Records for their sophomore effort, "The Lonesome Death Of Buck McCoy." Also in '96, McCaughey's '89 solo album "My Chartreuse Opinion" was reissued as a Minus 5 effort.

In '00, McCaughey recorded an album's worth of material in a single day. But that set, "In Rock," didn't see the light of day until '04.

In the meantime, The Minus 5 and the Young Fresh Fellows released a split double album, "Let The War Against Music Begin/Because We Hate You"; the "Let The War Against Music Begin" was The Minus 5 offering. Session outtakes were later released as "I Don't Know Who I Am." Next, McCaughey collaborated with Wilco for "Down With Wilco." "At The Organ," outtakes from those sessions, were released as well.

The band's seventh album, a self-titled effort (but known as "The Gun Album" - because of the hand gun on the cover), was released early '06.

Three years later, "Killingsworth," a collaboration with The Decemberists, came out.

'14 saw the release of the five-LP box set "Scott The Hoople In The Dungeon Of Horrors." Twelve songs from that package were gleaned for "Dungeon Golds" the following year.

The Minus 5 Discography


1993 Hello EP
1995 Old Liquidator
1997 The Lonesome Death Of Buck McCoy
1998 My Chartreuse Opinion
2001 Let The War Against Music Begin
2003 I Don't Know Who I Am (Let the War Against Music Begin)
2003 Down With Wilco
2004 In Rock
2004 At The Organ
2006 The Minus 5
2009 Killingsworth
2014 Scott The Hoople In The Dungeon Of Horrors
2015 Dungeon Golds

Rate This Bio | Join Rockin'Town | Related Artists | Rockin'Forum